Saakshi أرورا مقابلة

23 أبريل 2012 - لا يوجد أي تعليق . السؤال من في روتجرز المواطنة .

Saakshi أرورا، وهو الأصغر في جامعة روتجرز، حضر مؤخرا حفل التجنس الذي استضافته روتجرز المواطنة في معهد إيغلتون للعلوم السياسية. هناك، أصبحت هي وأمها المتجنس تماما للولايات المتحدة. مقابلات مع فانيسا ماتيوس، وهو متطوع مع برنامج إيغلتون على الهجرة والديمقراطية، والسيدة أرورا عن مقالة ميزة في المواطنة روتجرز " الإخبارية وصفحات الويب في http://epid.rutgers.edu/gallery/citizenship-rutgers/ .

أثار Saakshi، وهو طالب روتجرز، والدتها، عالم أبحاث، والأميركيين جديدة أخرى أيديهم حقوق كما أدوا القسم في مثل الولايات المتحدة للمواطنين في جامعة روتجرز، في نوفمبر 2011.

فانيسا: ما هو بلدك الأصلي، ومنذ متى وأنت تعيش في الولايات المتحدة؟
Saakshi: عمري 20 سنة ولدت في الهند. لقد كنت أعيش في الولايات المتحدة لمدة 11 عاما. حصلت على والدتي عندما كان عمره 9 سنوات، عمل (H1B) تأشيرة مع إحدى شركات الدواء في الولايات المتحدة، والذي هو عندما انتقلنا.

فانيسا: ماذا كانت عملية مثل بالنسبة لك ليصبح المتجنس؟
Saakshi: اعتقدت فعلا أنه كان لطيفا حقا. وكنت عندما ذهبت لإجراء الاختبار (المواطنة) في نيوارك، عصبي حقا لكنهم قالوا مررت! حوالي خمس دقائق في وقت لاحق دعا لي أحدهم الى حفل روتجرز المواطنة. وكنت متحمسا لقبول لكونها جزءا من روتجرز ودوغلاس (الكلية) وكانت تجربة مدهشة جدا كونها المجنسين في الحرم الجامعي وكانت فكرة عظيمة.

فانيسا: هل لك أن تصف تجربتك باعتباره LPR في RU؟ هل تواجه أي عقبات؟
Saakshi: جئت إلى الولايات المتحدة في الحصول على تأشيرة H1B من خلال عمل والدتي، لذلك أنا لم تواجه أي تحديات كبيرة حقا في روتجرز. بعد بضع سنوات، طبقنا للحصول على البطاقة الخضراء من خلال شركتها و 5 سنوات بعد أن طبقنا للحصول على الجنسية. استغرق الأمر بعض الوقت ولكن وصلنا أخيرا، وبرنامج روتجرز "للمساعدة على إعادة النظر في الطلب والوثائق كانت كبيرة. كنا حقا قلقة بشأن ما إذا كان أو ليس كنا نفعل ذلك بالطريقة الصحيحة، لذلك كان عظيم أن يكون لدينا جميع الأسئلة والأجوبة.

فانيسا: كيف، على كل حال، والتجنس تغير المنظور الخاص بك على التعليم العالي أو الذين يعيشون في الولايات المتحدة بشكل عام؟
Saakshi: أنت تعرف، لقد طلب مني نفس السؤال عندما أكملت الامتحان في نيوارك بعد أن تبين أن كنت طالبا روتجرز. في تلك اللحظة، لم أشعر بأي شيء مختلف، وأنا اعتقد بأنها مجرد تغيير من كونه مواطنا هنديا إلى كونه مواطنا أميركيا. ولكن حينها أدركت هذا هو صفقة كبيرة. وأنا الآن أنا متحمس حقا في التصويت، الذي لم أستطع أن أفعل عندما التفت 18، وهذا هو عام ضخم للقيام بذلك. كونه مواطنا من الولايات المتحدة كما يعطي لي فائدة إضافية من التصفيات المؤهلة لمنح التعليم، والتي لم يكن لدي الوصول إلى ذلك، قبل أن هذا أمر عظيم.

فانيسا: ما هي البصيرة أو النصيحة التي تقدم لغيرهم من الطلاب، LPRs أو الطلاب غير المسجلين، في تتبع مسار الحصول على الجنسية؟
Saakshi: أود أن أقول لهم بالتأكيد تأخذ من الوقت لبحث كل شيء. فمن الصعب أن تكون مريحة مع تغيير جنسيتك والناس سوف تذهب من خلال تلك المشاعر المختلطة. ولكن اعتقد انه امر رائع مرة قمت بذلك لأنه لديك الكثير من المزيد من الخيارات، وتمكن من وضع مسار وظيفي لإعطاء أطفالك فرص أفضل، مثل أمي فعلت. لم يكن لدي الكثير من التجهيزات والمعدات التي ظهر في الهند منذ ان كان عمري 9 فقط، لذلك كان أقل صعوبة بالنسبة لي، ولكن بمجرد أن الناس تقبل التغيير، وبعد ذلك اعتقد ان الفوائد الهائلة.

فانيسا: ما، إن وجدت، والموارد الأخرى التي استخدمتها لمعرفة أو تسهيل التجنس الخاصة بك؟
Saakshi: نحن تستخدم أساسا في موقع المصلحة العامة وأدوات روتجرز المواطنة.

فانيسا: منذ كنت حضر مراسم التجنس في RU، وكيف أنه لم يشعر للحصول على الجنسية الخاصة بك في حرم نفسه أين أنت أيضا كسب شهادتك؟
Saakshi: لا استطيع ان اقول لكم كيف كنت سعيدا. لم يكن مثل الايام العادية. قلت لأمي، "أمي، وانا ذاهب الى بلدي الحرم الجامعي ليصبح مواطنا." لقد كانت مثل هذه الصفقة الكبيرة في حياتي. تغيرت أمي حياتها لأحضر لي الى الولايات المتحدة للحصول على أفضل فرصة وأنا لا يمكن التفكير في أفضل شخص للحصول على الجنسية مع.

Saakshi وأمها تشكل مع موظف في وزارة الامن الداخلي بعد اخذ يمين الولاء.


فانيسا: بما أنك وأمك كانت المجنسين في نفس الوقت، هل يمكن أن تصف شعورك حول هذه التجربة بين أم وابنتها (أو مع أقارب آخرين)؟
Saakshi: لدي أخت أصغر من هو (8) ولدت هنا، ولذا ليس لدي أي أشقاء الآخرين الذين كانوا في طريقهم للحصول على الجنسية، لذلك لم يكن سوى والدتي وأنا. ومع ذلك، كان سعيدا للغاية أختي بالنسبة لنا. شاهدت كيف خاصة أن التجربة كانت وكان مستاء حتى إنها لا تستطيع أن تفعل ذلك أيضا. وكانت والدتي صخرتي، انها قالت انها كانت معي طوال الوقت، لذا كان من المدهش أن تفعل ذلك معها. وفي الوقت نفسه، الآن هو متحمس أختي أستطيع أن أذهب والتصويت لصالح ميزانية مدرستها في ذلك فئة لها قادر على الفوز على الجليد الاجتماعية كريم (يضحك).

فانيسا: ما هي أهدافك المهنية أو في المستقبل كأميركي "الرسمية"؟
Saakshi: (يضحك) والآن أنا أدرس علم النفس وعلم الأعصاب، وأريد أن السعي في كلية الطب في المستقبل.

فانيسا: هل هناك شيء آخر كنت ترغب في مشاركتها مع روتجرز المواطنة أو مجتمع المهاجرين عن تجربتك؟
Saakshi: أود أن أقول فقط هذا هو عملية مذهلة من خلال الذهاب، ولكن الجميع يجب أن يكون على استعداد للحصول على المساعدة. وهي عملية واسعة النطاق وباهظة الثمن، أنا لا أعرف كيف يمكن للناس مع الذين يعانون من المال من شأنه أن تدفع ثمن ذلك، ولكن كنت بحث عن أي مساعدة. وأعتقد أن السبب الرئيسي الذي يجعل الناس يترددون في تطبيق لأنه أمر يبعث على الملل، وزائدة عن الحاجة من الصعب فهم، لذلك بالتأكيد لا تخافوا لطلب المساعدة.

فانيسا: شكرا جزيلا على وقتك، Saakshi! لقد كان عظيما الدردشة معك!

الأحداث القادمة

  1. أبريل
    30
    اثنين

    1. دورة تدريب قانون الهجرة
عرض التقويم »

مترجم

اتصل بنا

Saakshi Arora Interview

April 23, 2012 - no comments. Posted by in Citizenship Rutgers.

Saakshi Arora, a junior at Rutgers University, recently attended a naturalization ceremony hosted by Citizenship Rutgers at the Eagleton Institute of Politics. There, she and her mother became fully naturalized citizens of the United States. Vanessa Matthews, a volunteer with Eagleton’s Program on Immigration and Democracy, interviewed Ms. Arora for a feature article in Citizenship Rutgers’ newsletter and web page at http://epid.rutgers.edu/gallery/citizenship-rutgers/.

Saakshi, a Rutgers student, her mother, a research scientist, and other new Americans raised their rights hands as they were sworn in as US Citizens at Rutgers University, in November 2011.

Vanessa: What is your native country and how long have you been living in the United States?
Saakshi: I am 20 years old and was born in India. I have been living in the United States for 11 years. When I was 9 years old, my mother got a work (H1B) visa with a pharmaceutical company in the United States, which is when we moved.

Vanessa: What was the process like for you to become a naturalized citizen?
Saakshi: I actually thought it was really nice. When I went to take the (citizenship) test in Newark, I was really nervous but they said I passed! About five minutes later someone invited me to the Citizenship Rutgers ceremony. I was excited to accept because being part of Rutgers and Douglass (College) has been an amazing experience so being naturalized on campus was a great idea.

Vanessa: Can you describe your experience as a LPR at RU? Did you face any obstacles?
Saakshi: I came to the U.S. on an H1B visa through my mom’s job, so I didn’t really face any big challenges at Rutgers. After a couple of years, we applied for a Green Card through her company and 5 years after that we applied for citizenship. It took a while but we finally got it and Rutgers’ program to help review the application and documents was great. We were really concerned on whether or not we were doing it the right way, so it was great to have all our questions answered.

Vanessa: How, if at all, has naturalization changed your perspective on higher education or living in the United States in general?
Saakshi: You know, I was asked the same question when I completed the exam in Newark after they found out I was a Rutgers student. At that moment, I didn’t feel anything different; I thought of it as just changing from being an Indian citizen to being an American citizen. But then I realized this is a big deal. I am now really excited to vote, which I couldn’t do when I turned 18, and this is a huge year to do it. Being a citizen of the U.S. also gives me an extra benefit of qualifying for education grants, which I didn’t have access to before, so that’s great.

Vanessa: What insight or advice would you offer to other students, LPRs or undocumented students, in pursuing a path to citizenship?
Saakshi: I would definitely tell them to take the time to research everything. It is difficult to be comfortable with changing your citizenship and people will go through those mixed feelings. But I think it is great once you do because you have so many more options and are able to develop a career path to give your kids better opportunities, like my mom did. I didn’t have that many attachments back in India since I was only 9, so it was less difficult for me, but once people accept that change, then I think the benefits are awesome.

Vanessa: What, if any, other resources did you use to learn about or facilitate your naturalization?
Saakshi: We mainly used the general USCIS website and the Citizenship Rutgers tools.

Vanessa: Since you attended the naturalization ceremony at RU, how did it feel to get your citizenship on the same campus where you are also earning your degree?
Saakshi: I cannot tell you how excited I was. It wasn’t like a normal day. I told my mother, “Mom, I am going to my own campus to become a citizen.” It was such a big deal in my life. My mom changed her life to bring me to the United States for a better opportunity and I couldn’t think of a better person to get naturalized with.

Saakshi and her mom pose with an employee of the Department of Homeland Security after taking the Oath of Allegiance.


Vanessa: Since you and your mother were naturalized at the same time, could you describe how you felt about that mother-daughter experience (or with other relatives)?
Saakshi: I have a younger sister who is 8 and was born here, so I don’t have any other siblings who were going to get naturalized, so it was just my mom and me. However, my sister was extremely excited for us. She saw how special the experience was and was even upset that she couldn’t do it, too. My mom has been my rock; she’s been with me the whole time, so it was amazing to do it with her. Meanwhile, now my sister is excited I can go and vote for her school’s budget so her class can win an ice cream social (laughs).

Vanessa: What are your professional or future goals as an “official” American?
Saakshi: (laughs) Right now I am studying Psychology and Neuroscience and I want to pursue medical school in the future.

Vanessa: Is there anything else you would like to share with Citizenship Rutgers or the immigrant community about your experience?
Saakshi: I would just say this is an amazing process to go through, but everyone needs to be willing to get the help. It is an extensive and expensive process, I don’t know how people with who struggle with money would pay for it, but I’d research for any assistance. I think that the main reason why people hesitate to apply is because it’s tedious, redundant and difficult to understand, so definitely do not be afraid to ask for help.

Vanessa: Thank you so much for your time, Saakshi! It’s been great chatting with you!

Translator