采访saakshi阿罗拉

2012年4月23日- 无意见 张贴在公民 罗格斯

saakshi阿罗拉,在罗格斯大学的大三学生,最近参加入籍仪式由公民罗格斯伊格尔顿政治研究所主办。 在那里,她和她的母亲完全归化成为美国公民。 伊格尔 ​​顿移民和民主程序的志愿者,采访凡妮莎马修斯女士在公民罗格斯大学“的专题文章阿罗拉通讯和网页http://epid.rutgers.edu/gallery/citizenship-rutgers/

saakshi,罗格斯大学的学生,她的母亲,一个科学家,和其他新的美国人提出其权利的双手,为他们宣誓就职美国公民在2011年11月在美国罗格斯大学。

凡妮莎:什么是你的祖国和多久你一直住在美国吗?
saakshi:我20岁,出生于印度。 我一直在美国居住11年。 我9岁的时候,我的母亲与制药公司在美国,这是当我们搬到了工作签证(H1B)。

凡妮莎:像你成为归化公民的过程是什么?
saakshi:其实我认为这是非常好的。 当我去参加在纽瓦克(公民)的测试,我真的很紧张,但他们说我通过了! 约五分钟后,有人邀请我到公民罗格斯仪式。 我很兴奋接受,因为罗格斯大学和道格拉斯(学院)的一部分,一直是一个了不起的经验,因此被归校园是一个好主意。

凡妮莎:你能描述你的经验,作为一个在茹LPR? 你遇到任何障碍?
saakshi:我通过我妈妈的工作H1B签证来到美国,所以我真的没有面对任何大的挑战,在罗格斯。 几年后,我们通过她的公司,并申请绿卡5年后,我们申请入籍。 过了一段时间,但我们终于得到了和罗格斯大学的计划,以帮助审查应用程序和文件,是伟大的。 我们是真正关心我们是否做正确的方式,所以这是伟大的,有我们所有的问题回答。

凡妮莎:如何,如果在所有,已入籍改变你的观点对高等教育或居住在美国一般?
saakshi:你知道,有人问我同样的问题,当我完成后,他们发现我是罗格斯大学的学生在纽瓦克考试。 在那一刻,我不觉得有什么不同,我以为它只是从一个印度公民,作为一个美国公民的变化。 但后来我意识到这是一个大问题。 投票我现在真的很兴奋,我不能这样做,当我18岁了,这是一个巨大的一年做。 作为一个美国公民,也给了我一个额外的好处,我没有获得过,所以这是伟大的教育补助金资格。

凡妮莎:什么见解或意见,你会提供给其他学生,LPRs或无证学生,在追求一个公民的道路呢?
saakshi:我肯定会告诉他们花时间去研究一切。 这是很难改变你的国籍和人民将通过这些百感交集舒适。 但我认为这是伟大的,一旦你这样做,因为你有这么多的更多的选择,并能够制定一个职业道路,让您的孩子更好的机会,像我妈妈那样。 我没有很多的附件,因为我是在印度只有9个,所以这对我来说是那么困难,但一旦人们接受这种变化,那么我认为的好处是真棒。

凡妮莎:什么,如果有,你有没有使用其他资源了解或方便您的入籍?
saakshi:我们主要是使用一般USCIS网站和公民罗格斯工具。

凡妮莎:既然你参加的RU入籍仪式,它是怎么感觉在同一个校园,你也赚你的学位得到您的国籍?
saakshi:我不能告诉你我是多么激动。 这是不是像一个正常的一天。 我告诉妈妈,“妈妈,我要以我自己的校园成为一个公民。”这是我生命中的大事。 我的妈妈改变她的生活带来了更好的机会,我向美国和我想不出一个更好的人得到归。

saakshi和她的妈妈对国土安全部的雇员后,宣誓效忠。


凡妮莎:既然你和你的母亲是归在同一时间,你能描述你是如何感觉母女的经验(或其他亲属)?
saakshi:我有一个8岁的妹妹,就诞生在这里,所以我没有任何其他人要得到归兄弟姐妹,所以这只是我和我的妈妈。 然而,我的妹妹,我们感到非常兴奋。 她看到的经验是多么的特别,甚至心烦意乱,她无法做到这一点,太多。 我妈妈一直是我的磐石,她一直与我的全部时间,所以这是惊人的,跟她。 同时,现在我妹妹很高兴,我可以去她的学校的财政预算案进行表决,所以她的课能赢得一个冰淇淋社会(笑)。

凡妮莎:什么是你的专业或未来的目标,作为“官方”美国?
saakshi:(笑)现在我正在学习心理学和神经科学,我想继续在未来的医疗学校。

凡妮莎:你还有什么想罗格斯公民或移民社区您的经验分享?
saakshi:我只想说,这是一个了不起的过程,要经过,但每个人都需要愿意得到帮助。 这是一个广泛的和昂贵的过程,我不知道如何用金钱与谁斗争的人会为它付出,但我研究的任何援助。 我认为人毫不犹豫地申请的主要原因是因为它是乏味的,多余的和困难的了解,所以绝对不要害怕寻求帮助。

凡妮莎:谢谢您的时间,Saakshi你这么多! 它已经与你聊天!

活动预告

  1. 四月
    30
    周一

    1. 移民法“培训班
查看日历»

翻译

Facebook的

订阅我们的饲料

联系我们

Saakshi Arora Interview

April 23, 2012 - no comments. Posted by in Citizenship Rutgers.

Saakshi Arora, a junior at Rutgers University, recently attended a naturalization ceremony hosted by Citizenship Rutgers at the Eagleton Institute of Politics. There, she and her mother became fully naturalized citizens of the United States. Vanessa Matthews, a volunteer with Eagleton’s Program on Immigration and Democracy, interviewed Ms. Arora for a feature article in Citizenship Rutgers’ newsletter and web page at http://epid.rutgers.edu/gallery/citizenship-rutgers/.

Saakshi, a Rutgers student, her mother, a research scientist, and other new Americans raised their rights hands as they were sworn in as US Citizens at Rutgers University, in November 2011.

Vanessa: What is your native country and how long have you been living in the United States?
Saakshi: I am 20 years old and was born in India. I have been living in the United States for 11 years. When I was 9 years old, my mother got a work (H1B) visa with a pharmaceutical company in the United States, which is when we moved.

Vanessa: What was the process like for you to become a naturalized citizen?
Saakshi: I actually thought it was really nice. When I went to take the (citizenship) test in Newark, I was really nervous but they said I passed! About five minutes later someone invited me to the Citizenship Rutgers ceremony. I was excited to accept because being part of Rutgers and Douglass (College) has been an amazing experience so being naturalized on campus was a great idea.

Vanessa: Can you describe your experience as a LPR at RU? Did you face any obstacles?
Saakshi: I came to the U.S. on an H1B visa through my mom’s job, so I didn’t really face any big challenges at Rutgers. After a couple of years, we applied for a Green Card through her company and 5 years after that we applied for citizenship. It took a while but we finally got it and Rutgers’ program to help review the application and documents was great. We were really concerned on whether or not we were doing it the right way, so it was great to have all our questions answered.

Vanessa: How, if at all, has naturalization changed your perspective on higher education or living in the United States in general?
Saakshi: You know, I was asked the same question when I completed the exam in Newark after they found out I was a Rutgers student. At that moment, I didn’t feel anything different; I thought of it as just changing from being an Indian citizen to being an American citizen. But then I realized this is a big deal. I am now really excited to vote, which I couldn’t do when I turned 18, and this is a huge year to do it. Being a citizen of the U.S. also gives me an extra benefit of qualifying for education grants, which I didn’t have access to before, so that’s great.

Vanessa: What insight or advice would you offer to other students, LPRs or undocumented students, in pursuing a path to citizenship?
Saakshi: I would definitely tell them to take the time to research everything. It is difficult to be comfortable with changing your citizenship and people will go through those mixed feelings. But I think it is great once you do because you have so many more options and are able to develop a career path to give your kids better opportunities, like my mom did. I didn’t have that many attachments back in India since I was only 9, so it was less difficult for me, but once people accept that change, then I think the benefits are awesome.

Vanessa: What, if any, other resources did you use to learn about or facilitate your naturalization?
Saakshi: We mainly used the general USCIS website and the Citizenship Rutgers tools.

Vanessa: Since you attended the naturalization ceremony at RU, how did it feel to get your citizenship on the same campus where you are also earning your degree?
Saakshi: I cannot tell you how excited I was. It wasn’t like a normal day. I told my mother, “Mom, I am going to my own campus to become a citizen.” It was such a big deal in my life. My mom changed her life to bring me to the United States for a better opportunity and I couldn’t think of a better person to get naturalized with.

Saakshi and her mom pose with an employee of the Department of Homeland Security after taking the Oath of Allegiance.


Vanessa: Since you and your mother were naturalized at the same time, could you describe how you felt about that mother-daughter experience (or with other relatives)?
Saakshi: I have a younger sister who is 8 and was born here, so I don’t have any other siblings who were going to get naturalized, so it was just my mom and me. However, my sister was extremely excited for us. She saw how special the experience was and was even upset that she couldn’t do it, too. My mom has been my rock; she’s been with me the whole time, so it was amazing to do it with her. Meanwhile, now my sister is excited I can go and vote for her school’s budget so her class can win an ice cream social (laughs).

Vanessa: What are your professional or future goals as an “official” American?
Saakshi: (laughs) Right now I am studying Psychology and Neuroscience and I want to pursue medical school in the future.

Vanessa: Is there anything else you would like to share with Citizenship Rutgers or the immigrant community about your experience?
Saakshi: I would just say this is an amazing process to go through, but everyone needs to be willing to get the help. It is an extensive and expensive process, I don’t know how people with who struggle with money would pay for it, but I’d research for any assistance. I think that the main reason why people hesitate to apply is because it’s tedious, redundant and difficult to understand, so definitely do not be afraid to ask for help.

Vanessa: Thank you so much for your time, Saakshi! It’s been great chatting with you!

Translator