目的地,新澤西:移民如何利於國家經濟

內容提要


新澤西州的移民經濟是如此重要,如果你做思想實驗減去他們的工作,你會發現,新澤西本身會停頓下來。 一旦在該州的北部城市集中,今天的移民居住在該州的每一個角落:從“澤西城多明尼加記者報告,到了她在Plainsboro的實驗室印度化學家;的意大利熟食店的老闆雕火腿在蒙特克萊爾,到海地父親駕駛在卡姆登出租車;從黎巴嫩教授,她在普林斯頓大學的研討會,危地馬拉小將在Pinelands收穫紅莓:移民使新澤西運行。

據美國人口普查,新澤西州的8.7萬居民1.7萬人在美國以外出生的。 僅紐約和加州有較大比例的移民。 雖然其移民的份額已上升20世紀70年代以來,新澤西州,其移民人口增長最為迅速,1990年和2000年之間。

大多數的外國出生到新澤西州尋求更好的生活,為自己和子女,主要是通過工作。 因為他們相對年輕,移民彌補勞動力的更大的份額(28%),比普通人群(21%)。

移民工人舉行可以想像每一項工作。 ,但總的來說,他們都集中在高,低兩端的教育和收入的階梯。 移民包括全州40%的高級學位持有人。 他們的專業技能,使他們必不可少的新澤西州的創新及科技中心的聲譽...


>下載報告全文

活動預告

  1. 二月
    7
    星期二

    1. 下午4:30 展覽:損失和記憶的圖像:瑪格達Luccioni的畫
  2. 三月
    14
    週三

    1. 國稅局非營利工作坊:對於小型及中型的501(c)(3)“
查看日曆»

翻譯

Facebook的

訂閱我們的飼料

聯繫我們

Destination, New Jersey: How Immigrants Benefit State Economy

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY


New Jersey’s immigrants are so essential to its economy that if you did the thought experiment of subtracting their work, you’d find that New Jersey itself would grind to a halt. Once concentrated in the state’s northern cities, today’s immigrants inhabit every corner of the state: From the Dominican journalist reporting in Jersey City, to the Indian chemist at her lab in Plainsboro; from the Italian deli-owner carving prosciutto in Montclair, to the Haitian father driving a taxi in Camden; from the Lebanese professor running her seminar at Princeton, to the Guatemalan teenager harvesting cranberries in the Pinelands: immigrants make New Jersey run.

According to the U.S. Census, 1.7 million of New Jersey’s 8.7 million residents were born outside the United States. Only New York and California have larger proportions of immigrants. While its share of immigrants has been rising since the 1970s, New Jersey saw the most rapid growth in its immigrant population between 1990 and 2000.

Most of the foreign born come to New Jersey seeking better lives for themselves and their children, primarily through work. Because of their relative youth, immigrants make up an even greater share of the workforce (28 percent) than of the general population (21 percent).

Immigrant workers hold every job imaginable. By and large, though, they are concentrated at the high and low ends of the education and earning ladder. Immigrants comprise 40 percent of the advanced degree holders statewide. Their specialized skills make them indispensable to New Jersey’s reputation as a center of innovation and technology…


> Download Full Report

Translator